Wednesday, February 17, 2010

Freedom of Expression Champ - Dr. Toni Samek!

National Freedom of Expression Committee, of which Dr. Toni Samek is a member, wins the Les Fowlie Intellectual Freedom Award

This year's winner of the Les Fowlie Intellectual Freedom Award is the Book and Periodical Council's Freedom of Expression Committee. On board the committee is U of A SLIS prof and intellectual freedom advocate Dr. Toni Samek, who has been tireless and enthusiastic in her promotion of freedom of expression. Congratulations! More details below courtesy of SLIS.

"The Book and Periodical Council (BPC) is this year's winner of the Les Fowlie Intellectual Freedom Award. The honour is awarded by the Ontario Library Association. The BPC earned the award because of the "tireless efforts" of its Freedom of Expression Committee “in promoting intellectual freedom for all Canadians" and "organizing the annual Freedom to Read Week," said Shelagh Paterson, Executive Director of the OLA.

The award is named after Mr. Les Fowlie, the former Chief Librarian of the Toronto Public Library and a staunch defender of Canadians' Intellectual Freedom. Fowlie was also a past member of the BPC's Freedom of Expression Committee. The OLA will present the award on February 26 in Toronto.

For more information about the Freedom of Expression Committee, please visit"

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Congratulations Toni!